H. W. "Buzz" Bernard


When Heroes Flew Series

When Heroes Flew


** MWSA Award Winner! **

A novel of extraordinary bravery, inspired by the true story of one of the most harrowing air raids ever flown. Fans of Beneath A Scarlet Sky, The Nightingale, and Unbroken will enjoy this unforgettable tale of duty, honor, and compassion.


"...a bravura performance..." —Dwight Jon Zimmerman, New York Times bestselling author


For B-24 bomber pilot Al Lycoming, the mission was history in the making. For Women’s Airforce Service Pilot Vivian Wright, it was a chance to put her skills to the ultimate test...and share in the burden of combat.


Dispatched to Benghazi on mysterious orders, Al Lycoming finds nearly 200 other B-24 bombers being assembled...and a top secret assignment that will catapult them all into seemingly impenetrable Nazi defenses.


Their mission: a daring low-level attack on Hitler’s extensive oil refineries.


But when his co-pilot falls ill at the last moment, Al secretly finds help from an unlikely source—Vivian.


Together, the two fly towards dark skies filled with enemy flak and fighters...and into the pages of history.


With perspectives from American and German pilots alike, When Heroes Flew masterfully weaves together one of the most dangerous and incredible aerial operations of World War Two with a riveting tale of bravery, suspense, and self-sacrifice.

Praise for When Heroes Flew:


"Highly recommended." —P.T. Deutermann, author of Pacific Glory


“Strap in! It’s one hell of a ride!” —Don Keith, author of Final Bearing


“World War II angst and action brought to life." —Commander George Wallace, USN (Ret.), author of the Hunter Killer series


"...feel the vibration, smell the exhaust, and sense the fear." —Tom Young, author of Silver Wings, Iron Cross


"[The pilot's]...amazing courage, and that of the entire group, is subtly drawn." —John J. Gobbell, author of the Todd Ingram series


"...chuckle and weep in tandem while forgetting everything around you but the story itself." —Kathleen M. Rodgers, author of The Flying Cutterbucks


“This book gripped me from the very first page...In real life, this WW2 mission resulted in the award of Five Medals of Honor. In my view, they all deserved one. Highly recommended.” —Rachel Wesson, author of The Orphan Train series

When Heroes Flew: The Shangri-la Raiders

Book 2 in the When Heroes Flew series.


Take to the skies with your next great military thriller!


Reserve your copy today!

Join "Buzz" Bernard's Team!

Never miss a new release!  Get "Buzz" Bernard's newsletter to receive the latest news and updates..

About H.W. "Buzz" Bernard

H. W. "Buzz" Bernard is a best-selling, award-winning novelist.

Before becoming a novelist, Buzz worked at The Weather Channel as a senior meteorologist for thirteen years. Prior to that, he served as a weather officer in the U.S. Air Force for over three decades. He attained the rank of colonel and received, among other awards, the Legion of 
Merit.

His "airborne" experiences include a mission with the Air Force Reserve Hurricane Hunters, air drops over the Arctic Ocean and Turkey, and a stint as a weather officer aboard a Tactical Air Command airborne command post (C-135).

In the past, he's provided field support to forest fire fighting operations in the Pacific Northwest, spent a summer working on Alaska's arctic slope, and served two tours in Vietnam. Various other jobs, both civilian and military, have taken him to Germany, Saudi Arabia, and Panama.

He's a native Oregonian and attended the University of Washington in Seattle where he earned a bachelor's degree in atmospheric science; he also studied creative writing.

Buzz is a past president of the Southeastern Writers Association as well as a member of International Thriller Writers, the Atlanta Writers Club, Military Society Writers of America, and Willamette Writers.


Other books by H.W. "Buzz" Bernard can be found here.